November 27, 2006

Gobble Gobble…

Posted in eating habits, Food, Updates, weight at 1:59 pm by way2much

Well, Thanksgiving came and went. When I went to Weight Watcher’s meetings I would dread hearing from the whiners about the upcoming holidays and what they should do about all the food they will be faced with.

Blah Blah Blah….just don’t eat it!

Hah – easier said than done – as I soon experienced. Before I was weight conscience I never gave it much thought – you know – how much I gained over the season and if I will lose it or not. But a few years ago, I noticed I gained and I didn’t lose it – and a few months went by and I gained some more. If it wasn’t the treats during the holidays it was the BBQ’s in the summer and pool side snacking that did me in. I couldn’t win!

But I got through Thanksgiving this year.

I had Turkey – but only a few slices…

I had turkey soup, stuffing, mashed potatoes, roasted sweet potatoes, stuffed mushrooms (2), cranberries, salad, and corn. Before the meal though, I had some antipasto (we’re Italian!) I promised myself I would only make a small plate and I did! BUT I added a few more pieces of cheese here and there! I wasn’t even hungry for the main meal but I had a taste of (almost) everything!

Of course we have the “pack your leftovers” routine after the meal. I was too stuffed to even think of it, but my mom wanted to clear up the dining room table and the kitchen, so I had to! First thing I packed was a stuffed artichoke (’cause I didn’t get to have any at the meal). I grabbed some turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes and stuffed mushrooms and some left over antipasto salad. I became concerned about how much I must have gained so far!

Then the desserts came out. A member of our family mentioned we had one pie for each of us! That would be 11 pies my friends! I contributed with 4 that I made (that’s without a working stove!) I made an incredible Oreo Cream Pie that my family absolutely goes crazy for – so I made 2! Because just between my son and husband they can eat a pie by themselves. I also made a chocolate pudding pie and a pistachio pudding pie. There were more pies, such as caramel apple, coconut custard, pumpkin, and a cheesecake. There was a mini-sugar-free pie for my brother’s mother-in-law and I had made her individual sugar free pudding as well. There were 2 more but I can’t remember what they were!

I only had a sliver of cheesecake! I was too stuffed to eat anything else. No one had much dessert! So I packed some leftovers!

Now for my good news. The leftovers are gone, and I have not gained an ounce. That is right – last year I may have gained 5 pounds over the weekend, but not this year. Nothing!

But I still have to get through Christmas!

Leave a Reply

